# National Association for the Advancement of Colored People

# Bergen County Branch



P.O. Box 1136 Teaneck, NJ 07666

Telephone: (201) 227-1875 • Fax: (201) 227-0580

October 18, 2018

For Immediate Release

## Defeat Hate -- Vote!!!

Bergen County NAACP to Host Annual Awards Event

Teaneck -- The National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) Bergen County will hold its annual Freedom Fund Awards Brunch on Saturday, October 20.

This year's theme, "Defeat Hate -- Vote!!!" highlights a key imperative of our time — one that is central to the mission of the nation's oldest, largest and most widely-recognized grassroots based civil rights organization "to ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination."

"Elections matter," explained the Bergen NAACP's Executive Committee. "Now, more than ever, we need to stand up to racism, bigotry and hate, and there is no better way to do that through the ballot box."

This year, the organization is proud to include two new awards in honor of two longtime pillars of the NAACP family and the Bergen County community: Rev. Thomas Johnson (Ridgewood) and Dr. Ursula Parrish Daniels (Hackensack).

Several Bergen County people will be recognized for their work within our community:

Freedom Fund Award
Paula Madison-Ryner (Teaneck)

Julian X. Neals Trailblazer Award
Andrea Holmes Thompkins (Teaneck)

Rev. Sanetta D. Ponton (Englewood)

Rev. Thomas Johnson Religious/Civic Award

Dr. Ursula Parrish Daniels Education/Civic Award

Susie Cipriano (Jersey City)

Dr. Alison Morgan-Black (Englewood)
Rev. Donna West (Hackensack)

**Community Service Award** 

JoEllen Bostick (Englewood)
Glenna Crockett (Hackensack)

Emmett Till Youth Award
Dena Dupree (Teaneck)

#### The Honorable Thurgood Marshall Award

Karen Gwynn (Hackensack)

### **Youth Recognition Award**

Lela Mae Davis (Hackensack) ... Jeremiah Lee (Hackensack) ... Taliya Hendrix (Hackensack) Jeremiah Paul (Hackensack) ... Anaya Payne (Westwood) ... Khalil Elijah Williams Reames (Hackensack) Nastasja Roman (Hackensack)

The annual awards event will be held at The Terrace in Paramus from 11:30am to 3:30pm.